Code of Conduct

Default Steingarten's article on stinky food in Sept. Vogue

Has anyone else read this?

I was intrigued by the mention of "isonitriles" - the author tried to get ahold of some and was refused by a few companies. Apparently this compound (I'm not a scientist, sorry if 'compound' is the wrong term) smells so uniquely awful that everyone who smells it instantly vomits. Could be used as a deterrent, no?

Does anyone here have a love of stinky food? He mentioned kimchee, which I do love, and stinky cheese. But I'll pass on the maggot cheese and the Andouillette.
    "It's now very common to hear people say "I'm rather offended by that." As if that gives them certain rights. It's actually nothing more than a whine. 'I find that offensive.' It has no meaning; it has no purpose; it has no reason to be respected as a phrase. 'I am offended by that.' Well so fucking what." - Stephen Fry

Default Re: Steingarten's article on stinky food in Sept. Vogue

I haven't read it but you are making me want to..

Try to snag it from one of your female friends. It's the huge Sept. issue with Keira Knightley looking weird on the cover. Steingarten is a great writer, and the subject matter of the article is something I think would interest Basenoters.

And I still want to know what isonitriles are and what they're used for!
    "It's now very common to hear people say "I'm rather offended by that." As if that gives them certain rights. It's actually nothing more than a whine. 'I find that offensive.' It has no meaning; it has no purpose; it has no reason to be respected as a phrase. 'I am offended by that.' Well so fucking what." - Stephen Fry

Thanks for the info about this. Love his stuff and would love to read the piece. Is it available online anywhere?

Quote Originally Posted by LedByMyNose View Post
    Has anyone else read this?