Code of Conduct

Default How does one get into professional perfumery

I completely understand if I receive no constructive advice from this forum, because I highly doubt there is much experience in the professional perfumery field, but I just figured I would ask.

I love creativity, and just find perfumery immensely interesting and full of depth, how does one work for a top scent design house?

How does one start out? Is there a school from which one graduates and applies for jobs???

how does one get to carnegie hall..... practice practice practice right???

Akk, I have no clue.
    Last edited by lyrictenororbust; 6th September 2008 at 05:39 AM. Reason: not clear enough

Default Re: How does one get into professional perfumery

I think it would be so cool to get into, but I am a music student, and that is my love.

Eventually I plan on getting the resources to make my own in the comfort of my home and hone my creations to perfection. Some successful beer brewers started out in their own homes.

I think you need to have a major/degree in chemistry before you can apply to perfumery school. Please correct me if I'm wrong though.

in what aspect? do you want to make perfumes or deal with other aspects such as marketing?

To work for a large fragrance house, one must have a degree in chemistry (w/ an emphasis in organic analysis/synthesis) and then secure a job as a lab tech/chemist. Then one must be recommended by one's supervisor to go to the (highly competitive) perfumer's education programs these companies offer. After a few years of studying scents and developing a better nose you might get the chance to make perfumes for laundry detergent or flavorings for food and drink. If you do that well then you might have a chance at getting to prove yourself by developing a perfume.
    Last edited by surreality; 8th September 2008 at 03:20 AM.