Code of Conduct

Default Looking for a warm, modern, non-grandpa fall/winter scent

Cooler weather is quickly setting in here in Canada and I would like to add at least one more fall/winter scent to my recently acquired Penhaligon's 1870. The other fragrances I own work best in warmer weather so they probably will get less use this coming cold season.

I am still very new to the hobby and It's hard for me to describe what I seek, but generally I like woody notes and spices (in moderation), a little bit of sweetness is ok, as long as it's not vanilla. I would prefer a scent more suitable to a younger (at least younger-looking) person, something that's versatile and can be worn in most situations. I also am not a fan of strong, uber-masculine power-frags with weapon-grade tabacco, leather and smoky notes.

It doesn't have to be niche, please feel free to recommend anything as long as it's something you think may fit the bill. Thanks in advance!

Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: Looking for a warm, modern, non-grandpa fall/winter scent

Though I can think of 15 that would fit the bill perfectly, I think you should try Idole de Lubin. It's absolutely gorgeous, uncommon, and spicy/boozy. Drop me a pm if you want more suggestions for the type, but I really think that's a perfect place to start. I love IdL.
    I'm a colognosaurus. Rawr!

My personal favorite fall/winter scents are Santal Noble, Chergui, New Haarlem & Patchouli 24 (this one is a bit smokey, but not uber masculine). I'm also in the younger age bracket if that helps.

Best thing is to write down these suggestions, read the reviews and sample. Best of luck.
    Last edited by nsamadi; 16th September 2008 at 03:44 AM.

Post Thanks / Like

Young whippersnapper,

Do your research and sample to your heart's content but (and this is very important), before you buy, check out my wardrobe - if I own it, don't buy it. You have just grandpa-proofed your wardrobe!