Code of Conduct
Just Starting Out Sponsor

Default Need something for close proximity

Hey all,
    I'm just starting to get into fragrances and was researching what to buy for my 2nd real cologne. I am a college student (20) but don't go partying or clubbing. I commute to school and part of the deal is that I use the high occupancy vehicle (HOV) lane to avoid traffic where I can. I pick up 2 passengers (3 required in car) at the bus stop and we head to downtown, approximately a 30 minute trip. I need something that won't overwhelm my passengers or dominate the car. Proximity is obviously close and the air is stagnant (aside from the AC) - a situation that can easily turn into a headache with the wrong cologne. Aside from that "need", relatively small classrooms is where I'm at the rest of the day. Only a third of the people wear anything at all so the scent doesn't need to be strong.

Aside from some cheap PS cologne, my first cologne was AdG which I bought after reading about the great reviews online. But that is nearly finished and I want to keep a bit as a collection starter. After sampling around a bit, I've decided that I really dont like the light watery type as it seems kind of juvenile (please don't take offense). I went to Macy's and sampled some fragrances and here are some I didn't particularly like:

212 Herrera
    Platinum Egoiste
    Armani Code
    The Dreamer
    Joop!

OK ones:

Tommy Hilfiger (cant remember the one)
    D&G (not the light blue one)
    Boss from Hugo
    CK Eternity
    Bvlgari pour Homme

The only problem with the ok ones is that they seem kind of normal to me (aside from Bvlgari). I want something a bit different that people will remember (in a good way). Now the whole woody/leather/masculine segment is starting to open up to me when I tried John Varvatos and I would buy it but I don't think I have the physique/ultra confidence to wear that type of fragrance, I'm 5'5/135, slightly on the shy side but definately friendly.