Code of Conduct

Default Looking for new warm fragrance

I have spent several pleasant hours reading these forums and the insightful reviews and assistance this community offers. I am new to descriptions of fragrances (read: noob), but I think I have learned enough to describe what I'm looking for. I hope to gain from the collective insights here.

I am very picky about which fragrances I buy, but will wear the same "signature" scent for years once I find one I like. While I do enjoy smelling nice fragrances on other people, I personally adhere to the "personal space" philosophy for wearing scents. I generally wear 1-2 sprays on my upper chest/neck area before I put on my shirt for the day, and that's it. I also use a sandalwood shaving soap, but I doubt that anyone but my wife ever smells that subtle bit of my fragrance wardrobe.

Right now, and for the past 2 or 3 years, I have worn Hei by Alfred Sung. I very much enjoy every phase of this one, but most especially the later mid notes and finish notes. For a couple of years, I wore (and sometimes still do wear) Swiss Army, and I like the clean, woody drydown on that one. Before that, I enjoyed wearing Curve.

Lately, I have tried several colognes, each of which leaves something to be desired for a personal fragrance, although I'm sure they would be great on someone else. For example, I love the middle and finish notes of D&G PH, but the top notes are cloying and offensive to me. Such a shame for such an otherwise nice cologne.