Code of Conduct

Default Synthetic v. natural

I prefer to use natural essences over synthetic, but as a newbie I'm finding it hard to control my budget using only natural for testing purposes and have sprung for a few synthetics. Personally, while they are cheap, I don't think they portray a true fragrance as a natural essence. Who here uses the synthetics successfully and why do you like them? Are there exceptions for certain scents that you will use a natural over a synthetic or is it the source that counts?

BTW, thanks to all who have tolerated my noob questions here. I am humbled by the expertise of everyone and thank you for your sage advice always.

Default Re: Synthetic v. natural

Here's the way I understand it...

You can take something like sandalwood and put it in a gas chromatograph. This will give you a list of the main esters present. It might include:

cis-alpha-Santalol
    cis-beta-Santalol
    Monocyclic sesquiterpene alcohols
    alpha-Teresantalic acid
    alpha-Norekasantalic acid
    alpha-Ekasantalic acid
    beta-Santalic acid

In a lab, they make these chemicals using a number of different methods, including transesterification, condensation with acidic protons, rearrangement of haloketones in presence of base, nucleophilic displacement of alkyl halides with carboxylic acid salts, nucleophilic displacement of acyl halides with alcohols, oxidation of ketones with peroxides, and reaction of nitriles with an alcohol. Some of these processes even occur in plants... think of them like natural little mini-laboratories.

So, yes, you can chemically reproduce the results of the gas chromatograph, and get something that smells very close.

But why not exact?

Because there are TRACE esters present. Sometimes thousands of them. Individually they don't contribute anything noticeable, but combined together, they produce the subtle nuances that can only come from dozens to hundreds of trace esters present in the natural substance.