Code of Conduct

Default Noobie introduction; my story

Back in 1991 I received a "gift" of Drakkar Noire from my gal pal at the time. In 1996 or so, I purchased a closeout bottle of Michael Jordan's cologne from Sportmart (never a good sign).

I'm 39 now, and I've been too embarrased to wear either of those 2 colognes with any regularity. The Drakkar can be smelled from about 50 feet away, and I figured that 5$ michael jordan cologne probably smells like... 5$ cologne?

So I'm new to this world. I don't have a good sense of smell, at least I don't think I do, but then again, I haven't really worked at it either.

I asked around, and purchased the following, which are still in transit via UPS:
    Bvgari Avqa
    Armani Aqua di Giro
    Armani Black Code
    Crush
    Burberry Brit

I made these selections before finding Basenotes. Basically researched "ask.com" and "mens health" along with reading a bulletin board or 2.

In hindsite, it looks like the Bvgari and Burberry are the 2 keepers.

About me: 39yo white dood, computer programmer, avid runner and hockey player. Never schooled in the arts of "playing the field", always been an outgoing happy guy with a sense of humor and penchant for being mediocre in a lot of sports. Recomendations...?

So I hope to improve my stock of scents, and learn the proper vocabulary for talking about male colognes.

Default Re: Noobie introduction; my story

Before you open them when they arrive, perhaps you should go to a store and smell them? Go to a Sephora if you have one around you. They are cool with you playing with their testers and their SAs are usually helpful and not pushy. Spray the tester on paper first and sniff that. If you like it, spray some on your wrist. Let it sit for half a minute before you sniff it.

That way you can decide for yourself if you like them. If you don't, they are not opened yet and maybe you can return them?