Code of Conduct

Question Why soy candles over parrafin wax candles?

I'm curious as to why so many people who make their own candles, both for themselves and for their business, go with soy.

From what I've read so far, there really is no real benefit, in fact, paraffin seems to hold fragrance better.

So why does everyone go with soy over paraffin?

Default Re: Why soy candles over parrafin wax candles?

I am no expert, but I believe soy has less soot, and burns cleaner overall. Now, whether that means 'healthier' I'm not sure. The nice thing about soy is that you can use it to moisturize, too! (a little melted soy wax on the hands really helps that chapped winter feeling!)

Soy = Is better looking(smoother). People that sell candles can promote its "naturalness".

As a Perfumer I find that soy when using the solvent I use for it in fragrances diffuses better then parrafin.

Paraffin is a fossil wax. Soy is vegetable wax. Soy is a renewable resource, fossil fuel is not. I believe that is the main reason why soy waxes and oils have been developed, even though they also burn a bit cleaner too.

I also think soy wax melts at a lower temperature which means the wax is more body friendly if you happen to get it anywhere
    But once you get locked into a serious perfume collection, the tendency is to push it as far as you can.

Quote Originally Posted by lizzie_j View Post
    The nice thing about soy is that you can use it to moisturize, too! (a little melted soy wax on the hands really helps that chapped winter feeling!)
    I don't know from the perspective of a manufacturer. But from a purchasing aspect, lizzie_j hit the nail on the head as to why I only buy soy candles these days. (If I have a paraffin candle, it was a gift from someone not in the know.)

Quote Originally Posted by Neurotic Scientist View Post
    From what I've read so far, there really is no real benefit, in fact, paraffin seems to hold fragrance better.