Code of Conduct

Default Is it true that the natural perfumers guild allows animal

Hey there, I'm new to base notes and I am enjoying everything about it so far. I was hoping someone can help me. I want to fond out if there is any truth in the rumors

Default Re: Is it true that the natural perfumers guild allows animal

I clicked the wrong button sorry. I heard that the guild allows members who Re selling animL cruelty products like civet. Is this true? I am a vegan and only wear natural perfumes. I was shocked to hear that news. Does any body know if it is true. I love base notes.

Karen

I am curious to know this myself. I would hope not but I fear the worst. I just did some very quick searches and it looks like they might. Maybe a more knowledgeable member will chime in.

There are natural perfumers who do not use civet (for obvious moral reasons). Ayala Moriel comes to mind.

Natural perfumers are just that. They don't use synthetics (though the line between synthetics and naturals can be very blurry at times - that is a whole different debate). They do not necessarily conform to a particular moral/ethical position. Like anywhere else -there will be a range of opinion in natural perfumery on ethical issues - some will be wholly against animal ingredients and others will wish to use the traditional historical ingredients. If that is important to you, track down the ones who meet your criteria by careful reading or asking direct questions.

This post is for information only and does not reflect my personal opinion.
    "Don’t try to be original. Be simple. Be good technically, and if there is something in you, it will come out. ” - Henri Matisse.

"Wear R de Capucci" - Hirch Duckfinder

reviews

I know Ayala Moriel takes an ethical stance when it comes to animal products - the only ones she uses are beeswax, beach-harvested ambergris and "African Stone Tincture", made from hyrax droppings, none of which hurt the animal involved.