Code of Conduct

Default Questions regarding scent creation (newbie)

It's great to find a place with so many knowledgeable folks -- I'm a bit new to all this so hopefully my questions don't come off as too naive.

I've been messing around with essential and fragrance oils for about a year, and while my skills (I use that term loosely) will need to be refined over the course of many, many years, I know enough to know that I love working with scents and thus am ready to make a leap. I've saved up around $4,000 for the purposes of investing in a miniature 'library' of EOs, master perfumer blends and aromachemicals from The Perfumer's Apprentice.. I almost just want to order one of everything they carry, in its smallest sizes, just so I have the widest range possible of scents so that I can have a somewhat decent foundation to build upon.

So my questions here are:

What books would you recommend someone in my shoes read? What are the essentials? I have seen some people on here mention "Poucher's Perfumes, Cosmetics and Soaps".. it's about 300 dollars from what I can tell, but if it's worth it then I'd order it without hesitation. Is the book worth it, in your opinion? What other books have you found especially useful?

Next, I'm looking for a book/guide/"how to" info regarding the actual process of blending, the physical act.. convenient methods, ways to easily gauge the percentages of EOs, etc.. to me, after learning the actual notes themselves, this seems to be the most daunting.. understanding how perfumers can replicate a scent infinitely with such precision.. how do you measure everything so precisely and keep perfect notes while creating a perfume consisting of 10, 20 or even more different elements?

Also, is there a method that allows the 'removal' of a scent? ie: You add too much of a certain note and need to go back a step or two.. is this impossible, or is this done by adding more of the surrounding scents to get the ratio back to how it was?