Code of Conduct

Thread: Leather-likes

Default Leather-likes

I'm still learning about notes, and one of more confusing things I've encountered is leather mimics.

So apparently people don't just chop up bits of leather and put them into fragrances. They use chemicals that recreate a leather-like smell.

In another thread, someone mentioned that styrax can be used to achieve a leather smell. Also, someone else mentioned that isobutyl quinoline can be used to achieve a different leather smell.

In the limited number of scents I have sampled so far, only two fragrances come to mind when someone says "leather" -- Tom Ford's Tuscan Leather and Piguet's Bandit (I've only sampled the EdT, not the EdP.).

However, I don't really smell leather in some other fragrances that other Basenotes members say contain a "leather" note. Some examples are Yatagan (which smells mostly herby aromatic to me) and Montana Parfum d'Homme (which is just all greeny amber and patchouli to me).

Could it be that I am anosmic to certain leather mimics?
    Last edited by Aiona; 16th January 2009 at 07:25 AM.

Default Re: Leather-likes

I've smelled very few leather fragrances that smell like leather. I'm baffled by supposed leather notes in Douro, REL and Bandit. The truest leather I know is Cuir Ottoman.

It seems everyone has a different idea of what leather smells like.

Our own helg posted an excellent 12-part series on leather fragrances at Perfume Shrine.
    The articles are sorted in reverse order. I started with the last article and worked my way upwards.
    Last edited by TwoRoads; 18th January 2009 at 05:16 AM.