Code of Conduct

Default To blind buy Shalimar? (and blind-buying in general)

This is my first post and my dilemma: (I'm posting here because I'm just starting out)

I have a perfumed talc bottle of shalimar from about the early nineties. I just love the fragrance and although I expect the normal perfume to be less powdery, I'm 90% sure I want the perfume as well. But fears of reformulations and such are a little scary and I would be very depressed if the scent smelled bad on me.

Is there anyone out there who can offer a comparison of the talc scent to the perfume scent? And to make it more complicated, Guerlain has gone ahead and made several new versions of the of the scent. I'm sure I'd get more "daytime" mileage out of the lighter citrusy versions - but I'm pretty sure I want the original - but I'm not 100% sure if the "original" is what I have in powder form or is something ancient and only found on ebay.

If I can find the right one, I can test the Shalimar at my local macys but they don't have any other Guerlain perfumes besides the insolence line - I'm interested in Jicky, Misuoko, and L'Heure Bleu - but I've never had the opportunity to smell them.

So, when I can, go for broke on the Guerlains or wait for a trip to Boston to test?

Thanks.

Default Re: To blind buy Shalimar? (and blind-buying in general)

With Shalimar EdC, I find a synthetic rubbery note at first that is really unpleasant,but when it dries down that fades away. However, from what I've read the other formulations (which I haven't tried) are quite different, so you should probably sample first.

Test first. No regrets later.

Post Thanks / Like