Code of Conduct

Default L'Heure Bleue PdT

I just took part in a bottle split of vintage LHB PdT. This was a blind buy for me, but I'm enough of a Guerlain Zombie® that I didn't want to pass up the opportunity.

On BN and elsewhere on the web my sense is that LHB is more admired than loved. But having worn it twice now, I think it's terrific. Beautiful, complicated and wearable for a guy. Perfect for a warm winter day.

I'm not good at describing scents, especially complicated ones like the older Guerlains. Among the pre-WWII Guerlains I know (Jicky, Mouchoir, Mitsouko, and Apres l'Ondee) it's definitely most similar to Apres l'Ondee. LHB has a prominent carnation note; I'm not sure there's any carnation in ALO, but something similar is going on there (is that the hawthorne?). But LHB's basenotes are much more typically Guerlain, to my nose at least.

What do others who've tried LHB in this concentration think of it?

Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: L'Heure Bleue PdT

Pre - WWII Guerlains ? I am duly impressed!
    Now I hope to get my extrait soon also.
    I am already in the process of swapping my EDT away,
    hoping the perfume will render it obsolete... (?)
    I am glad you like what you got - so far!
    I never thought I could perhaps not wear it .
    (more to follow...)
    Last edited by narcus; 12th February 2009 at 05:56 AM.
    'Il mondo dei profumi č un universo senza limiti: una fraganza puo rievocare sensazioni, luoghi, persone o ancora condurre in uno spazio di nuove dimensioni emozionali' L. V.

I've generally found that Guerlain's juices age beautifully, so any vintage edition (zig-zag box of extrait or EdT, EdC or the first PdT edition) is almost bound to smell great.