Code of Conduct

Default How do you store your EOs and aroma chemicals? +a few more novice questions....

I am a perfumer novice--not even a novice yet, actually, as I've yet to purchase any materials. I have been perusing bojensen.net, perfumersapprentice.com, and thegoodscentscompany.com for useful info pertaining to EO/chemical usage, characteristics, etc. Can anyone recommend additional resources that are excellent tools for understanding the characteristics of and how to manipulate EOs/chemicals?

A very basic inquiry--how do I store my EOs and chemicals once I acquire them? My original plan was to immediately dilute them to 1:10 with ethanol and work with them in that format, but now I realize that different EOs/chemicals need to be smelled/used at different concentrations. And I'm also wondering if immediately adding EtOH would make it difficult for me to create/blend/analyze scent combinations, as the alcohol smell might get in the way. Can someone please advise me on this? Should I store my EOs/chemicals in EtOH, or perhaps I was thinking fractionated coconut oil or DPG? So far, the best site I've found with dilution recommendations is thegoodscentscompany.com. Anywhere else I can get detailed info on recommended smelling/perfume concentrations?

And now a question about aromachemicals--is it perfectly feasible to just add one or two to your scent mixture, or must a myriad of chems be mixed in order to be appreciable and useful? One thing I fear is that mixing chems is a very exact science with which I am not familiar. Is it possible to try to achieve a tuberose scent with certain chemicals, but because of the wrong proportions and concentrations, I would instead end up with a fish scent?

Is there a place that has a very detailed overview of the different chemical musks available and exactly how they smell? What would you recommend for a soft, sweet, warm musk with no floral notes?

Also, what chemicals are used to create a grainy/oaty type of scent?