Code of Conduct

Thread: Which Samples?

Default Which Samples?

Hi,
    I'm just starting out here. Recently I've been getting into frags and really researching about them. I've only got Davidoff Adventure and 212 Sexy Men. I Like them both, although sillage could be alot better for both.

I read about websites that offer sample like theperfumedcourt.com. But I have no idea what to go for.

Could anyone offer tips on stuff that would be good for me?
    I'm 17 and mostly im looking for an everyday frag and a few really nice ones. I would like to consider Adventure my signature but the sillage tends to disagree. Maybe something along the lines of Adventure?

Thanks

Default Re: Which Samples?

Quote Originally Posted by strato View Post
    Hi,
    I read about websites that offer sample like theperfumedcourt.com. But I have no idea what to go for.
    TPC has a number of "introduction to" sample packs, which may be a decent way to expose yourself to a variety of styles you aren't familiar with yet. One of the spicy/oriental sample packs might be most interesting at the moment, but the "woody chypre" sampler has several of the fragrances you'll see mentioned over and again here.

Instead of a predefined "sampler pack", you could also look through the directory here for other fragrances that share notes with the two you currently like. For example, if you like the pepper and cedar combination of Davidoff Adventure, maybe Comme des Garçons Guerilla 1, Cerruti Image, or Chic for Men by Carolina Herrera would suit you. Or not ... after all, I haven't tried them either.

Blog Entries

Hi strato and welcome to Basenotes!

Far be it from me to argue against buying decants, but if you're near a mall or department store that carries stuff like that, you'll save a lot of money by methodically trying everything they have. Both by trying their offerings on skin and paper, and also many times they'll have prepackaged samples there that you can take home and try at your leisure.