Code of Conduct

Default How can we describe modern perfume in better ways?

After 2 years of resisting the temptation I finally caved in and bought a bottle of Estee Lauder's Bronze Goddess.
    According to our own Basenotes database, the notes in this perfume are:
    Top Notes
    Coconut milk, Sandalwood, Vanilla, Vetiver, Myrrh.

Middle Notes
    Golden amber, Juicy mandarin, Sicilian bergamot, Lemon blend, Pulpy orange .

Base Notes
    Tiare flower, Jasmine, Magnolia petals, Orange flower buds, Fresh lavender.

Really? Well, at best I got something I could call coconut and something 'tropical' and ambery.

I would describe this perfume as 'entirely synthetic-smelling', but that is not a complaint. I am not good at discerning notes anyway, but I could not say this smells like it has any natural components (rose, oakmoss, bergamot, lavender... nope). It smells like a composition made in a lab of Wooderan and IsoE Super and Muskissone and Beacharome and Skinnism and it's just grand for it.

BUT because I don't have any IsoE Super in my house and I've never wittingly smelled a Cashmeran or a Damascone, I don't have the vocabulary to be able to tell you what notes (or aromachemicals) I can detect in this perfume.

I can see now why the perfume companies tell us massive porkies about 'notes of rose, marigold and fresia' because it becomes very difficult to describe a perfume like this without those familiar references. But I think it's doing perfumery a disservice not to be more honest about the ingredients and to develop new ways to describe and recognise notes.

I guess this is what companies are doing with those silly-sounding descriptives like 'rice steam', 'cashmere woods' and 'pear blossom'. They can't use tradenames like Cashmeran because the general public won't have a clue what they are or what they smell like. And I have come round to the point of view that it's probably better to say 'warm skin accord' than anything else.