Code of Conduct

Default Help needed - best vanilla scents?

Hi can I pick the brains of all you experts out there. Which fragrances are the best vanilla ones? I really like Annick Goutal's passion but despite everyone saying this is a really powerful perfume it seems to fade very quickly on me. Any suggestions welcome.

Default Re: Help needed - best vanilla scents?

I'm not an expert, and I don't know what the 'best' is, I just know what I like. You'll do your own sampling and determine the same. There are a million vanillas out there! Hermessence Vanille Galante is heavily discussed these days, and would be worth a try as it is different. It isn't heavy on vanilla at all, and isn't as sweet as so many of the more gourmandy vanillas like the CSP range. CSP has a plethora of vanillas (Vanille Extreme) and her combos like Vanille Pithaya, Vanille Abricot, etc., etc.

For something equally different, Micallef's Vanille Aoud, which is gorgeous and warming.

There are also houses that are exclusive to vanillas like La Maison de la Vanille.

Have fun sampling!

Non-foody vanilla's-

Fleur des Comores ~ MPG
    Vanille Galante ~ Hermes
    Vanilia ~ L'Artisan
    KenzoAmour ~ Kenzo
    Angelique Noire ~ Guerlain

These are my faves! If you like gourmand (sweet, foody type) vanilla, try:

Vanille Exquise ~ Goutal
    Spirituese Double Vanille ~ Guerlain
    Vanille ~ L'Aromarine

Best of luck and be sure to post your impressions when you test!

Wink Re: Help needed - best vanilla scents?

Just got Vanilla Noir bbw, very nice and lasting

Bath and Body Works has a new vanilla out called Vanilla Noir. Its a dark vanilla and its really nice. Ha! Jinx you owe me a coke!
    Last edited by ChantillyLace; 17th April 2009 at 07:51 PM.

Agree with all of the above and would like to add:

Lemon/vanilla: Eau de Shalimar. Surprisingly good; excellent if you like the idea of lemon tart fragrance with proper perfume personality. It flip-flops between edible and not edible.