Code of Conduct

Thread: Guerlain recs

Default Guerlain recs

Hi everyone,

I am fairly new to the world of perfumes.
    I am interested in trying some Guerlain frags-- so far I've only tried Shalimar Light which I like a lot. I'm not sure how to define my taste, but here is my concern: I do not want the fragrance to come off as too "elderly." (I'm a 22 year old woman)

So far I have 10 frags. The ones I like best are Hermes Un Jardin En Mediteranee, Shalimar Light, and YSL Paris Spring Jardins Romantiques.

The ones I like least are: Hermes Concentree D' Orange Verte (due to a powdery/fruity mix which disagrees with me), Eclat D'Arpege (which I like but has a sharp, metallic, chemical edge), and Rochas Byzance (which has a sharp soapiness I can taste in my mouth LOL)

Any ideas?
    (Mitsouko, Shalimar, Samsara, etc)

Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: Guerlain recs

Well, I'm no Guerlain expert -- I hope that other, more experienced hands give their advice.
    If you like Jardin Mediteranee (a green figgy scent), then you might be lucky to find and sample Sous Les Vent, a limited edition dry green chypre. That is a favorite of mine.
    Cheers,
    odysseusm

"The force that through the green fuse drives the flower // drives my green age..." Dylan Thomas

Post Thanks / Like

Hi MissCasey and welcome. First off, Shalimar Light is the furthest thing from an elderly lady scent, so no worries there. Secondly, Shalimar (original) is an absolutely gorgeous scent and I have been wearing it since I was around 10 years old. I have received more compliments on Shalimar than most others (and I have close to 400 bottles) so what does that tell you. I have always felt super sexy while wearing Shalimar, so don't dismiss it too quickly. Shalimar; she may be an old gal in age, but she is still a sexy hot thing.
    Have fun and explore. Remember you have to wear the scent, don't let the scent wear you. Go forth and Shalimar Light, then move on to Jicky.