Code of Conduct

Default Allergy/sensitivity to cologne

Hi all, I'm new to this fragrance world and will probably stay that way as I seem to have a bad reaction to it.

I thought I would try wearing some cologne as I've been smartening up my clothing generally and thought scent would add another dimension to my wardrobe, make me more sophistimacated and all that. I got some Eau Sauvage as it seemed a fairly classic/conservative choice. I applied it in the lowest quantity I could so as not to overdo it - one spray into the air, then walked through the mist.

At first it was okay. As the day progressed I started feeling ill. After a few hours I had a light headache and felt like my eyes were being pressed shut. By 2pm I had a serious headache and was feeling nauseous, and grew increasingly nauseous until I got home, took aspirin, showered and spent the rest of the day in bed.

It felt like it was some element in the cologne that was toxic but to test if it was just a coincidence a few days later on a Sunday I tried wearing it again and the same symptoms started to develop until I showered it off.

Is this a known reaction that some people have and is there a particular element that causes it? If so are there classes of cologne that some people find tolerable while not being able to use others or will I have to stay away from the stuff altogether?

Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: Allergy/sensitivity to cologne

Quote Originally Posted by snaff View Post
    It felt like it was some element in the cologne that was toxic but to test if it was just a coincidence a few days later on a Sunday I tried wearing it again and the same symptoms started to develop until I showered it off.
    It does sound like you have a sensitivity or an allergy to one of the many components of the fragrance. Which one is hard to tell, but it would be good to find out what's in it, so that over time, your growing "bad idea list" might help you pinpoint which components you'll want to avoid.