Code of Conduct
    Blog Entries

Default Houbigant's Fougère Royale being re-released

According to the Houbigant SA at Bergdorf Goodman (who is actually the Houbigant SA from the Neiman Marcus in San Francisco on temporary reassignment), Fougère Royale is being re-released. At least in the beginning, it will be exclusive to the S.F. Neiman Marcus.

For those not in the know, Fougère Royale apparently came out in 1882 and defined the fougere genre. I was curious but didn't ask how in the world they could recreate a classic chypre with today's anti-oakmoss restrictions. Then again, I'm no expert and none of the reviews I've read actually mention moss, so maybe that's not an issue, or maybe it's not even technically a chypre...
    Has everyone checked out my Top 100 Blog??

Default Re: Houbigant's Fougère Royale being re-released

It is probably a fougere, rather than a chypre, judging from the name. Traditional fougere triad is lavender/aromatic herbs, tonka and oakmoss, if I recall correctly.
    Last edited by Asha; 12th July 2009 at 05:52 AM.

It's not a chypre at all. To be called a fougere, it only has to contain lavender and coumarin (tonka). The addition of herbs would make it an 'aromatic' fougere. I suppose a fougere could contain oakmoss, but they typically don't AFAIK.

Fougere Royale is historically important, but I wonder how faithful to the original a re-release F.R. would be...or how relevant it would be, now that the fougere playing field is plenty crowded.

Still, interesting news.

On a related note, while antique shopping a few months ago, I found this 100% intact store display of Houbigant Fougere Royale deodorant sticks dating from the 1940s or 1950s:

The seals are still good, and i popped one open and the fragrance is still there! The accord is unmistakeable, though the sticks have probably degraded over the past half century!
    Last edited by andylama; 13th July 2009 at 08:34 AM.

Blog Entries