Code of Conduct

Default but what if cologne/perfume is only ONE of your many addictions??

I am new to Basenotes, only a few weeks in and I have already made three cologne purchases. I know I'm a lightweight by most standards but there are two elements to this that worry me. First is that I know I will buy more, there is no doubt that within the next month or so my repertoire will be expanded. But more worrying is that while it is the beginning of a Cologne Acquisition Disorder, it is coming on the tail of other similar disorders.

Those familiar with the shaving enthusiast community will know (and likely suffer from) the other ADs that come along with it - Razor Acquisition Disorder, Straight Razor Acquisition Disorder, Shaving Soap Acquisition Disorder, Shaving Cream Acquisition Disorder, Aftershave Acquisition Disorder, the list goes on.

I have dozens of shaving creams, soaps and aftershaves so the buying of colognes was only a matter of time. But as you can see it is not a stand alone issue for me. My shaving den already dominates the entire bathroom counter and now a whole new line of products are going to be making their way in.

At first, my wife admired my interest in personal hygiene and that I was not spending money on my car or some other hobby. She understood my rational thinking for "quality", "niche", "specialty" products. "Wool Fat soap is better for my skin than canned goo" I'd say; or "I'll have less ingrowns or irritation with a 19th century straight vs a 5 blade vibrating gizmo"; and now its "this artist crafts the unique notes unlike that old Aqua Velva". She has been supportive but now I'm pushing the edges of hygiene, hobby and sanity.

Am I trying to convince her or myself? If I can curb my shaving cream purchases I can likely curb cologne buying as well, but what's next? Where does this end? Does it end?