Code of Conduct

Default Which notes tend to create nose fatigue?

Forgive me if I'm using wrong terminology, and please correct me as I am obviously a newbie here. I am curious if the same notes tend to create nose fatigue in everyone or is it an individual thing? Sometimes I question whether I have just gotten used to smelling a certain fragrance or if it has faded on my skin. When reading reviews I wonder if the reviewer's skin type has caused the lack of staying power reported or could the person just have become used to the smell.

Blog Entries

Default Re: Which notes tend to create nose fatigue?

Ionones do this (the smell of violets). Here is a quote and several articles about them:

One quirk of some violets is the elusive scent of their flowers. Along with terpenes, a major component of the scent is a ketone compound called ionone that temporarily desensitises the receptors in the nose; sniff all you like, you won’t get any more smell from the flower.

"Fragrance: The sweetness of violets"
    http://www.cosmeticsbusiness.com/sto...?storycode=409

"Sweet and Powdery Fragrance Ingredients: Ionones"

http://boisdejasmin.typepad.com/_/20...and_powde.html

That's really interesting about the Ionones! I never knew that!

As far as just wearing perfumes every day, any scent can seem to disappear to your nose if you're exposed to it enough. Whenever I wear my beloved Love's True Bluish Light for more than a day in a row, I can hardly smell it at all after the first 10 minutes or so - even if I apply an amount that I know should be sufficient. The first time I wore it, I could catch whiffs of it all day, and now I have to go a couple of weeks between wearings to have that same kind of experience (something that I patently refuse to do. )

I think that's one reason why most here rotate what they wear from day to day. When you have a signature scent that you always wear, you lose the ability to appreciate it yourself.