Code of Conduct

Thread: Mmm, Antaeus

Default Mmm, Antaeus

Mmm, I am so glad I finally bought this. It smells so strong, elegant, and classy. So 80's, and definitely strong enough that even just one spray will do but two is just fine as a refresher.

The smell at initial spray is manly, hard to describe but dare I say smokey even though I doubt there's a smoke note to it? I'm no pro at describing note by note, but this is just what I personally think.

The dry down smells of leather with honey because of the beeswax note I'm sure, although you'll find different variations of its notes on basenotes.net and fragrantica.com. This one is definitely a gem, and for a blind buy I love it!

As mentioned it smells very elegant, not your typical modern kind of scent. Its smell brings images of 80's Corvettes, Camaros, guys with their collars popped up, and 80's lovers out on a late night romantic date out on the town. I definitely want more 80's scents! Smelling this is like a portal back to that era, and even though I was born in 1981 I somehow remember smelling similar "strong" scents like this as a kid so it's a nice hint of nostalgia. The power of scent is stronger than you think.

Default Re: Mmm, Antaeus

I was at Nieman Marcus last week. I never see Antaeus in department stores, and there it was. Anyway, upon seeing it, I used your exact words, "Mmm, Antaeus." The salesclerk then tried selling me Grey Vetiver!

Anataues is probably my favorite masculine fragrance EVER. It was the first designer scent I bought and wore it as a signature scent for years. It will remain a favorite indefinitely.

Post Thanks / Like

Mmm, Antaeus........ my first fragrance love! I was sixteen when it was released in 1981, Jacques Polgeīs first masterpiece for Chanel! A bit different today, but still a pleasure to wear and a great scent IMO. I always thought of it as a masculine version of Chanelīs war-horse No 5.
    Last edited by sables; 30th December 2009 at 10:35 AM.

Banned