Code of Conduct

Default I have met Jicky for the first time

Finally I managed to try Jicky.

First of all let me tell you that before I joined basenotes I never tried any Guerlain and I almost feel embarrassed to say it since I have been buying fragrances for 20 years. Why I never give it a try? I guess their marketing and a false impression that the house was dated, old fashioned and lost in time, it simply never "called me".

Now, after basenotes, I have Vetiver and L Instant extreme (both with back up bottles).
    I would like to say that I feel intrigued and amazed every single time that I smell Mitsouko and Shalimar and the more Guerlains that I try the more everything makes sense and I understand the infatuation with Guerlain. I cant venture yet into wearing them but I know I will sooner than later.

Jicky.
    I enjoyed it with moderation and caution and it did not made the first impression that Shalimar or Mitsouko produced on me. I got a citrus dark sweet gourmand, it was all over the place really. The civet was right in my nose like a mix of patchouli, iris and vanilla bringing to my brain the notion of Third Man mixed with Pour Homme splashed with generous doses of shalimar. For the first half an hour I thought that Jicky was a rebel sister of Shalimar, very animalic, almost masculine ... hard to understand a woman would like to wear it back then. Jicky is sexual in a dirty and vulgar way, at least to my nose, the word vulgar and Guerlain is almost like committing a sin but I do not find better words to describe it. Then the dirty part of it vanish and leaves an almost ethereal holy clean scent, light vanilla, citrus, floral lavender, a very radical change if your ask me. wow.