Code of Conduct

Default Noob needing designer cologne recipe for essential oils.

Hello,

I have never done this before, but would like to make something that smells similar to designer colognes.

I would like to use Jojoba oil/sweet almond oil as base.

I found recipes at a site (not sure if im allowed to list it here) but it only tells me ingredients in top/heart/base notes.

What I would like to know is how many drops of a certain ingredient do I use? Anyone here has their own designer recipe?

P.S I tried searching on basenotes but did not find anything....

Thank you.

Default Re: Noob needing designer cologne recipe for essential oils.

Sorry to disappoint you, but you cannot make "designer colognes" using an oil base and essential oils. To even come close to replicating them, you would need a whole range of synthetics and an alcohol base. The formulas for designer colognes are proprietary information, so I doubt that you'll be able to find anything useful in your searches for "recipes".

If you found a site that lists top/mid/base notes of designer colognes, this has little or nothing to do with what's actually in them.

Check the DIY forum.

It is very difficult to recreate modern perfumes as they contain many synthetics, semi synthetics and (sometimes) processed naturals.
    Some older "classic" perfume styles can be acheived. It is possible to make decent eau de colognes, chypres, orientals, florals, lavenders, sandalwoods etc with natural oils. It takes some serious patience and you will need to be prepared for many failures.
    "Don’t try to be original. Be simple. Be good technically, and if there is something in you, it will come out. ” - Henri Matisse.

"Wear R de Capucci" - Hirch Duckfinder

reviews