Code of Conduct

Default Acqua di Gio issues

Despite it being too common, I like Acqua di Gio. My wife likes it. I often get compliments. I guess it works well on my skin. I have been wearing it for over 7 years (even though I tried many other fragrances along the way).

Recently, I purchased a bottle from FragranceNet. It did not smell like my previous bottles. I compared it to the ones in Macy's and Nordstrom's. It is the same stuff, so it is authentic; but different than the ones I had before. I searched for a reformulation thread at basenotes, could not find anything. My favorite scent was gone, and I ended up paying for a scent I would not wear.

Recently, I was travelling in Italy, and I stopped by the duty-free. The Acqua di Gio there smelled exactly like the previous bottles I had. Puchased one. It smells great.

Comparing the bottles, the only difference I see is the sprayer hole. The one form Italy is on the right. Hole is smaller, closer the top, and the little black plastic piece around the whole is shaped different (concave vs. flat).

I think both are authentic, but they smell different. Maybe some variation between batches? Has anyone noticed this, or anything like this?
    Last edited by hicabi; 3rd May 2010 at 07:38 PM.

Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: Acqua di Gio issues

Trust your nose! I recently came across a fake SMW and I immediately knew. The bottle was duplicated very well though. If you have owned AdG that long and this particular one doesn't smell the same, you are probably right. I took a look at my AdG bottle and the sprayer hole takes up close to half of the top, more like one on the left. I bought mine from Dillards and it smells great.
    sb[]p

The one on the left is the one sold in the US. The one on the right is from Italy.

I think both are authentic. They smell similar, but there is a noticeable difference. Not like a fake vs. original; but more like a variation in ratios of ingredients...

Post Thanks / Like