Code of Conduct

Default What do aldehydes smell like and other newby questions.

Hi all,

I'm a total noob. So far all I know about fragrance is that some strong smells give me a migraine.

Aside from reading lots of Base Notes posts and fragrance blogs, I've been trying to teach myself about fragrance notes by ordering essential oils, but I have yet to see an essential oil of aldehydes. So my question is what do people mean when that talk of an aldehyde smell?

As an aside, should I sniff my essential oils straight or would it be better to dilute them in something like jojoba oil (any other suggestions?). What dilution would be good?

Is there anything else I should be doing to educate my nose? Any reading suggestions?

Thanks for any pointers. I love this forum; I've learned a lot here.

Blog Entries

Default Re: What do aldehydes smell like and other newby questions.

i'd just try to smell anything that is a "pure" fragrance, that way you can indentify notes once blended. i go in bath and body works/yankee candle on occassion just to learn individual notes i may not know

aldehydes: i could be totally off with this but im pretty sure its that fresh laundry, fresh air smell? or maybe its ozone...im thinking its fresh laundry though

While I certainly have a lot to learn myself I have to say the knowledge I do have in scents has come from the use of essential oils. I either use them with a carrier oil ( I prefer grape seed or grape seed mixed with avocado or Jojoba) for massage therapy or put them in a diffuser for aromatherapy. Diffusers are very simple just add a few drops of oil in with the water filled reservoir and heat it up. I recommend for the sake of learning individual smells that you look into one that is easy to clean so you can be sure you're not getting any scent from old leftover oils.