Code of Conduct

Default I'm at another questioning stage, about top, middle and base notes....

A nearly relevent side track to the number of ingredients question thread. I nearly posted this there but it would have sidetracked too much...

I've never really got to grips with this top, middle and base idea, even though I am a rank amateur and even though it is the worldwide and widely accepted notion, because there seems to be such an individual enterpretation of what constitutes these things.
    One mans base item is another mans top. Some of the things I have found listed as a top note have a longevity of 348 hrs and others only 12.

I am just finding it very hard to accept that this concept is so relevent in the structure of a perfume, and I do realise I am flinging this thought into the face of adversity and a collective experience much greater than my own.

It is my humble and amateur view that surely the top, middle and basenote thing should be based on the substantivity of each individual oil. French Lavender for instance is listed as 12 hours but spike lavender as 184, orange peel oil 32 and angelica 31, with grapefruit which I would certainly have ranked as a top note, as a whopping 348, which puts it by the base notes of tonka 400+.

Am I just a mad scientist or am I missing something really important? Any thoughts?

Default Re: I'm at another questioning stage, about top, middle and base notes....

I take substantivity numbers with a grain of salt. Some "highly stable" components seem to disappear more quickly than other highly stable components. I also think that there are quite a few exceptions to idea of having top, middle, base. It really makes you appreciate the master perfumers. Its not too easy to develop something really nice.

Default Re: I'm at another questioning stage, about top, middle and base notes....

In the natural perfumery group one of the members explained it a while ago very well so here I quote him: