Code of Conduct

Thread: scent of salt

Default scent of salt

Hello,
    I am a beginner at natural perfumery. I have a jar of grey sea salt that has the most wonderful minerally marine odor. How can I capture this scent for use in my perfumes? If it were an herb or spice I would tincture it, but I think adding salt to a perfume would just make it stain clothes. What is it that I am smelling anyway? Is it a combination of many different mineral salts whose particles are small enough to get airborne when I open the jar? I welcome suggestions.

Thanks,
    Djiril

oliverandco

Default Re: scent of salt

you can try it with Calone, which have a salty marine odour

Calone has a melon/fresh/aquatic note. It is very powerful but not salty in my opinion.
    There are a few "salty" perfumes on the market - sel de vetiver,fleurs de sel and a couple more. I'm not sure how they acheive the salt note though... maybe David Ruskin knows...?
    "Don’t try to be original. Be simple. Be good technically, and if there is something in you, it will come out. ” - Henri Matisse.

"Wear R de Capucci" - Hirch Duckfinder

reviews

oliverandco

for me itīs also a salty marine note