Code of Conduct

Default First EBay crazed evening purchase

Ok, I'm new to all of this, but I succumbed. I bid on something without smelling it, and now I'm straddling that "what did i do?" line. I'm hoping it's a great deal, and someone can tell me I'm brilliant instead of the 'ohhhhhh, hmmmmm, wellll" comment.

I bought a Joy extrait, vintage, 1.5oz almost completely full, travel purse spray for $51. It has the box, the sheath and the fragrance looks really dark and rich. I bought it from someone with 100% positive and a top rated seller, so I'm not afraid that it's a scam. I guess I'm just afraid that it will smell off, or I paid too much.

So I'm either super excited or super nervous, depending on when you ask me!

Default Re: First EBay crazed evening purchase

Looks fabulous...! And certainly not expensive...

thanks tott, I don't know enough about how much things are worth yet, but I do know I'm really liking Joy and anxious to try the extrait version. Even the EdP doesn't last on me.

How do you know which versions of perfume "go bad" over time? I had heard it's better to buy new of some scents.

Most fragrances will keep practically indefinitely if they are properly stored (cool and dark). The most sensitive fragrances are lighter fragrances, especially delicate topnotes.

Joy is a hearty fragrance which should keep well over time.

Basenotes Institution

Congratulations elizrj - the Joy looks fabulous with the outer leather sheath too ! Vintage Joy in those compagnon ribbed bottles seem to keep pretty well. My Mom gave me one like that which belong to my Grand Aunt - it was nearly full - with box and still smelled great after several decades - stored in a cool dark cupboard.
    http://www.basenotes.net/threads/370...o-Profumo-Onda
    For sale. Carnal Flower and Vero Profumo Onda.

thank you so much tott & mimi! I'm now firmly in the "i'm so excited" camp! Yay!!

Blog Entries