Code of Conduct

Default Discovering Mitsouko current vs. vintage

I'm by no means an expert for Mitsouko. In the past I had only sniffed a vintage EdC and the current EdT. Both did not seem to match my taste and style. Well, the chance arose and I bought a 30 years old original sample of the extrait. I can see what makes it so special to Mitsouko's fans. It felt like a dark, moist and mossy forest with mushrooms growing everywhere (and I was reminded of the overall feel of the EdC). VERY unique, but too special for my current liking! I then sampled the current EdP last week and really liked it. It was a sunny day and was a perfect match with the occasional waft from my wrist. Yesterday I eventually bought a small refill of the current extrait. It's bright, sunny and feels like springtime - trees in bloom and light-green moss at the entry to a forest in contrast to the dark feel of the vintage extrait.
    One reviewer stated that the notes in the extrait were all present from the beginning and sort of melting together compared to the EdP, which I think is very true. Anyway, I got a sample of the EdP with my purchase of the refill to compare again in the future.

As a sidenote, I was very surprised to see no oakmoss listed, but instead only tree moss. Why is Guerlain not able to use oakmoss when Caron still manages for their extraits?

I am very pleased having found access (I have a clear picture of the mood) to the last iconic classic Guerlain for me.
    Last edited by Larimar; 25th January 2011 at 07:36 AM. Reason: a little bit of style, typo, letter missing... duh! :)

Default Re: Discovering Mitsouko current vs. vintage

Congratulations on your vintage Mitsouko parfum.