Code of Conduct

Default Expanding my horizons

Currently I own three frags
    Calvin Klein Truth (got as a gift)
    Versace The Dreamer
    and Uomo? Moschino

I wore Truth around for a while when I was younger because it was all I had and I wore it as a gift. I wear it occasionally, but find it to be a bit generic smelling and something about it sorta gives me a headache.

I love The Dreamer, and wear it usually when I go out on the weekends and etc. It's unlike any other cologne I've ever smelled.

Uomo Moschino is also great, but I use it for more everyday wear.

My problem is that I feel like my two primary fragrances are too similar... They both are romantic sorta fragrances.... I'm not that experienced with fragrances and do not really know how to describe them too well... but they both give me the same sort of vibe.

What would you classify these two fragrances as? How do I expand my horizons in terms of fragrances? Sampling fragrances at the store is a bit difficult, as you can only wear one at a time...

Thank you.

Default Re: Expanding my horizons

Quote Originally Posted by mr. tinkle View Post
    How do I expand my horizons in terms of fragrances?
    Branch out to some niche houses.

Basenotes Plus
    Post Thanks / Like

Welcome to basenotes! Prepare for fume fun!
    Well...you can actually sample quite a few at the stores- remember you are not actually wearing- you are sampling. When you go to the store, wear no scent and a shirt with short sleeves. You can test at least 4 different scents on each arm. I spray the back of my hand, low forearm, near the elbow, and bicep with different scents at a meet-up or sniffing day. Wash them off afterwards if the melange bothers you. You're just trying to get a feel if you like how it behaves on your skin. If you only sample one scent each time you shop, you will have grandkids in college before you are done.