Code of Conduct

Default New Haarlem - Bond No. 9 Utter disappointment

I had a post that I started about a week ago asking basenoters for their opinions on my first niche fragrance. At the time I had sampled and was really leaning towards Andy Tauer's L'Air Du Desert Marocain but a majority of basenoters recommended me to get New Haarlem.

And so I did, and I received the fragrance yesterday. Keeping in mind that I had read almost every review on the fragrance and viewed every youtube review of the fragrance I thought I had a very good grasp on what it should smell like.

Time and time again I've read that it smells like a cup of mocha. It simply doesn't. The coffee is relatively weak and I do not get a gourmand feel from it either.

But don't take my word for it. I'm completely new to fragrances my nose is not as sophisticated as those of most basenoters. Many like it and I'm just in a minority that doesn't.

I really wish that I just had gone with LDDM. I just put the fragrance up for sale on ebay(I hope I don't get scammed I hate ebay), I would like to put it up for sale in Basenotes but sadly I don't have that privilege yet. Now I'm left with frustration and a really nice looking bottle of a fragrance I don't like...

Default Re: New Haarlem - Bond No. 9 Utter disappointment

I had made a cup of Irish Coffee a couple of nights back - when I woke up and was taking the empty mug downstairs I got a whiff of, yep, New Haarlem. It smelled JUST like New Haarlem. I get a crazy coffee vibe from it! Love it!

Still gotta try LDDM tho, only heard good things about it

Quote Originally Posted by Zubbbrastyle View Post
    I had made a cup of Irish Coffee a couple of nights back - when I woke up and was taking the empty mug downstairs I got a whiff of, yep, New Haarlem. It smelled JUST like New Haarlem. I get a crazy coffee vibe from it! Love it!

Still gotta try LDDM tho, only heard good things about it