Code of Conduct

Default J.C.Ellena book - Journal d'un parfumeur : Suivi d'un abrégé d'odeurs

Hi friends,
    I've just ordered a copy of J.C.Ellena's new book "Journal d'un parfumeur : Suivi d'un abrégé d'odeurs".

Once I've read it, I'll pop back to leave my impressions.
    In the meantime, has anybody else had a chance to look at it? I'd love to hear others' opinions.

Best to all.

(Link to NST blog-entry: http://www.nstperfume.com/2011/06/24...perfume-books/)

Default Re: J.C.Ellena book - Journal d'un parfumeur : Suivi d'un abrégé d'odeurs

My review won't be as eloquent as Cheryl's on NST (which is also what prompted me to buy the book), but I liked it! I read it very quickly, and it's the kind of book you should rather read slowly, so I intend to read it again soon. I'm new to perfumes and I feel like I learned a lot about the (or at least his) process of creating a fragrance, the chemistry and the business, but maybe someone who knows just a little more than me won't learn anything, since nothing is really treated very deeply. It is what it is: a journal. If it wasn't necessarily written for people like me (i.e., people who are interested in perfumes but don't know much about it), I feel like he kept us in mind. The tidbits of information were what interested me the most, such as historical changes in the industry (and his views on it) or the different scents resulting from different extraction processes. People more knowledgeable might be more interested in other aspects, for example Ellena's curiosity and reflections about art -- music, literature, painting. All in all, I'm happy it's in my library. I'll be interested to know what you think about it!

Default Re: J.C.Ellena book - Journal d'un parfumeur : Suivi d'un abrégé d'odeurs

Thanks so much Alnysie! Other than the review on NST, I couldn't find any information on the book, so your comments have been super useful. I can't wait for it to arrive.

Dependent