Code of Conduct

Default Horrible smelling experience

I want to share with you my unpleasant smelling experience of today.

I live in Amsterdam, Holland. I’m a niche perfume beginner and today I went to ‘Le Maquilleur’, a shop in Haarlem not far from Amsterdam (google it) for the first time.
    It is a privately owned perfume shop. They appeared to have a much more extensive collection than advertised on their website. I mean, the most extensive in all of Holland that I know of. Biehl’s, Histoires de Parfums, Escentric Molecules, Ineke, Etro, Eau d’Italie, etc., etc.

The owner and wife were present, both mid 50s, no other customers. I gave some compliments about their collection and checked out the shop. I asked them if I could smell some things that I had read about. Mr owner, very uninterested and looking past me at the door all the time, sprayed some on papers as I asked. He did not try to sell me anything although he offered some things to smell that I did not ask for. He showed a total lack of passion for his profession. After about maybe 12 tries, I asked if I could have some spays on my arm. He was not very happy, but did as I asked.
    In the end I was so unsure about what to buy, overwhelmed by the amount of bottles on sale and put off by Mr owner’s attitude, that I did not by anything. I thanked the couple again, giving compliments about their stock, and the man said, and I quote: This was the last time, I hope I never see you again.

It sounds like a bad joke, but I was shocked and I felt very bad. I still don’t get his reaction. I know we Dutchies can be quite rude but I never experienced something like this, ever. I sent them an email for an explanation when I got home. I will post the reply, if I get any.

Did any of you ever had such a bad experience?

Default Re: Horrible smelling experience