Code of Conduct
Just Starting Out Sponsor
    Valley Springs, CA (Gold miner's country)

Default Not much time left

Greetings and Salutations,

I stumbled upon Basenotes while searching the web for information about making perfume.

!WOW!

My deepest appreciation to Mr. Grant Osborne for developing a wonderful website for those who value the simplistic complications of the olfactory process.

I am very new to the whole appreciation-hobby of wearing fragrances and my interest was peaked when I purchased a frag (Creed-Love in White) for my wife, who enjoys wearing perfume. I love the way she smells. Yes it attracts me, makes me smile, and leaves memory's of her presence when we are apart, if that makes sense?

I myself have never had the inclination or real desire to wear perfume, it did not mix well with my occupation of operating heavy equipment. Diesel, smoke, grease, sweat, dirt, attitude,etc.

But all of that has changed. I have retired due to a life threatening disease and find myself wanting to enjoy the fine things in life with my wife. I do not know how much time I have left, it's scary, yet a revelation in what I want to accomplish before I am gone.

I have lurked here for a week and have read many posts that have brought my understanding of perfume to a new level. Things I did not know, such as Top, Middle, and Base Notes of the modern perfumes. Accords and how they are used. The process a professional perfumer undertakes to develop new scents. The subjectivity of the pleasures of one person liking a particular perfume, while another abhors the same perfume. The analogies of music and art to describe perfume in all of its nuisances.
    My frag education has begun, my love for perfume is growing the more I learn.