Code of Conduct

Question Problems with blending oils with alcohol or water

I am just starting out and have been using perfumerís alcohol with distilled water as the base for my body sprays and perfumes. I have been using a recipe I found online where I start the process with 5 tablespoons of the perfumerís alcohol and the oils and let that sit for at least two days. After that, I add the distilled water and let that sit for at least two weeks. Even after several weeks, I find that oils are not blending with the alcohol and water as expected and remain separated forcing me to shake the body sprays before using. This leads me to believe that I am doing something wrong. Can anyone tell me what I might be doing wrong?

Also, I would prefer to make my body sprays without alcohol but the only information I have found suggests using a carrier oil as a base, such as Jojoba oil but I always wonder if when spraying that on clothing, won't the oil stain clothing?

One of my favorite perfumers Christopher Brosius does not use alcohol in his perfumes. I would like to omit alcohol from my recipes as well but I cannot figure out how to make body sprays or perfumes that blend with using just water and a carrier oil which also leads me to believe that I am doing something wrong. I have purchased Christopher's perfumes many times and the oils and water are blended perfectly - how can I get my products to do the same?

Thank you for any suggestions!

Default Re: Problems with blending oils with alcohol or water

One more thing to note - I would like to hear what bases experienced perfumers are using for body sprays and perfumes and what the curring process entails as the ones I have tried just aren't working. I have done lots of research online but have found that there are a ton of varying methods for making perfume and body spray and have not quite found what works well yet.

Thanks again.

Adding water to the mixture is an advanced step that I would avoid for now if I were you.