Code of Conduct

Default What is the best way to evaluate samples?

I'm completely new to colognes and I recently received several 1 mL samples from Perfumed Court. However, I am not sure how exactly I should use these samples. Should I dip a piece of paper or rub some onto my wrists? There doesn't seem to be any kind of applicator that comes with the vials.

Thanks.

Default Re: What is the best way to evaluate samples?

The risky thing is, in some cases you don't get the full impression of a scent from vials that you can't spray; spraying seems to bring out much more of the top notes. To get a good impression of a 1 ml sample I pour at least half of it on my arm. Unless I know that it's of nuclear strength. And if it's something in the category of light & fresh, I pour the whole sample. So just pour, spread it with a finger, pour some more.

I've found the best thing to do with the little sample vials is to put my wrist over the opening, then turn the vial upside down, with wrist sealing the opening. Then I slide it around on my wrist a bit so some of the juice comes out - enough to pool up on my wrist just a little bit. Then I press the wrist to the back/side of my neck, under my ear. Press, don't rub. Repeat with the other arm. The juice on your neck will give you a pretty good idea of how the perfume reacts to your body heat, and the stuff on your wrists is easy to access for smell checks...

Edit: With the above method I get 2 - 3 samplings from each vial. Also, I do agree that you get a better evaluation from spraying. I get empty spray vials from accessoriesforfragrance.com and put my vial in those.

Quote Originally Posted by Al Gae View Post