Code of Conduct
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
o

Default complete newbie, which starter kit please.

Hi and first off, Hello! I am very excited to be starting my hobby in perfumery.

I have researched and researched the internet and this website but now I think I have 'information overload'.

I would like to know which of the following options will suits me best, being brand new and all.

Perfumersworld K-26 Kit
    Perfumersworld K-161 Kit
    Perfumers Apprentice starter kits
    My own collections from lists found online within the forum (still very overwhelmed but need to start learning somewhere).

Thank you all for your help and assistance, I look forward to being a valued member of this forum as my experience and knowledge increases.

Default Re: complete newbie, which starter kit please.

Hello and welcome to Basenotes DIY forum.

Happy New Year!

Now, to your questions.

First up I certainly would not buy the Perfumersworld Kits, partly because the website does not appear to make clear exactly what is in either of them - for 161 I could not even find a list of what you are getting for nearly $1k, which is hard to believe! Partly because one of the kits consists entirely of ‘bases’ devised by their in-house perfumer - no formula supplied - which means having learned to mix them you will have learned nothing useful about mixing anything else and will simply be a captive customer of Perfumersworld. Partly because they supply ‘Zolvent’ an unspecified ‘non-alcoholic carrier oil’ simply to fit in with their ABC gimmick and mostly because the general impression I got from looking at the website was that they have devised the whole thing to take advantage.