Code of Conduct

Default New member, new collector

After a long time of being unable to indulge myself, I've come into a new job - and with it, of course, a new interest in perfume.

My aunt and mother kept buying perfumes for me for holidays - heaven alone knows why - but always either very bright, fruity, "girly" fragrances, or whatever Clinique was putting out that year. Unbeknown to either of them I had stolen my father's bottle of Chanel Egoiste when I was still in high school and I carefully nursed that bottle for many years after! It's my signature scent and my favorite thing to wear to this day. I didn't realize perfume was something one could buy for one's self until I ran out of dad's bottle and had to purchase my own.

And then, of course, I learned that there was more to life than fruit and Happy.

I'm still a novice, and I'd like to learn more, but at this stage I feel my best bet is to smell everything I possibly can so I can pick up the vocabulary of scent. I was hoping the excellent Basenotes community might help me out.

Of course I'm too new to post in the swap thread, but I bought a new bottle of L'Occitane's Immortelle de Corse, thinking it was the sort of thing that people might be curious about or only want a little bit of (I think it's a wonderful scent but to be worn sparingly, and I don't stand a chance of using up a whole bottle myself,) and I imagined I might swap people 1mL or 5mL decants of that for.... literally whatever they had lying around. Ends of bottles, samples they'll never use, samples of their favorite things for which they are always evangelists, things that they feel are Good Educational Examples, so on and so forth.

Has that sort of experiment been done here before? Do I have a prayer of coming out of it alive?

Default Re: New member, new collector

Quote Originally Posted by thural View Post