Code of Conduct

Default Making One's Own Molecule 01 (Straight Iso E Super)

Became interested in this scent, and saw a thread made by a guy who did this, but as I am totally new to DIY, I need a little help.

I perused the "Primer Thread" already, but I feel like this might be a little different as it is just one note? Not really sure what I'm doing here.

So I just wanted to mix my own Molecule 01 without the huge price tag. I was thinking buying a bottle of Iso E Super from the Perfermer's Apprentice, and mixing it with perfumers alcohol, but beyond that I'm clueless. How much Iso E to Alcohol? Is all perfumers alcohol the same? Just need some pointers to get me on the right track.

Thanks, you BN folks are always helpful.

Default Re: Making One's Own Molecule 01 (Straight Iso E Super)

OK first up, not all Iso E Super is the same, but if you buy the stuff from PA then it should be the original from IFF so thatís a good start - you might want to check thatís still what they are stocking before you buy as there are cheaper alternatives on the market that wonít perform as well (itís the proportion of the gamma isomer thatís critical if youíre into chemical specifics).

Second donít forget that what you get will be a pure chemical so handle with care.

Perfumerís Alcohols are not all the same either, and you might want to consider using Everclear 95% ethanol if itís available in Oregon as that way you are not introducing any other chemicals to the blend at all. Failing that choose the most neutral form of ethanol you can buy but donít go for anything with more than around 5% water in it.

Finally I donít know for sure what proportion is used in Molecule 01 but I would suggest you start with a 10-15% solution and certainly donít go higher than about 20%. Ideally that should be by weight, but as youíre starting out you probably wonít have scales so what you need to know is this:
    The specific gravity of Iso E Super is between 0.96 and 0.97.