Code of Conduct
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default Objectively judging the quality of a fragrance as good or bad

How do we objectively judge the quality of a fragrance as good or bad independent of our personal biases? In other words, how do we step aside from simply saying, "I don't like this therefore it's bad." Are there generally recognized, objective standards that can applied to fragrances?
    For example, I recently posted a review of Omnia Onice. I didn't care for the fragrance for myself. But I couldn't ignore that it was a fragrance of high quality and unique creativity. Unfortunately, I wasn't able to state objectively what those qualities were. As a musician I'm accustomed to recognizing and being able communicate, on an intellectual level, why a piece of music is "great" even though it may not speak to me personally. Most of the time, if I don't care for a piece of music, it boils down to my emotional response rather than an intellectually quantifiable objection.
    Is it possible to discuss fragrances seperate from our subjective, personal response?
    Last edited by Symphonies; 18th March 2012 at 04:24 PM.

Blog Entries

Default Re: Objectively judging the quality of a fragrance as good or bad

Quote Originally Posted by Symphonies View Post
    How do we objectively judge the quality of a fragrance as good or bad independent of our personal biases? In other words, how do we step aside from simply saying, "I don't like this therefore it's bad." Are there generally recognized, objective standards that can applied to fragrances?