Code of Conduct
    queen of the universe

Question Civet (plus a few other notes)—modern versions?

I'm finding that civet/clary sage/ tarragon is a most favored note combo for me, and so far I am only smelling this in vintage. Are there any in-production frags that have these notes, especially the civet? Is there a synthetic civet? Educate me.
    What do insomniac perfumers do to fall asleep? They count chypres!

Default Re: Civet (plus a few other notes)—modern versions?

You should look into Mouchoir de Monsieur, if you haven't - the current is still good. Civetone is of the synthetic kind today, but I am no expert.

Regrettably civety florals are pretty much out of fashion. Amouage Gold man is a civet bomb, a huge incensy floral with tons of it. Dior Jules has plenty of clary sage as well, but I've seen it sold only in France, I'm not sure it's available in the US. Joy is the prototypical jasmine-civet floral, but I have not smelled it post-IFRA - if the jasmine is gone, so is the civet.

cacio

queen of the universe

Thanks. If it's any help, the fragrance that I can't get enough of is vintage Antilope EdT and PdT. Fortunately I have about 5 or 6 ounces of the Antilope. I also suspect I will move to something greener or more tropical for the warmer weather. The civet there is a very light but noticeable touch. My Sin Eau de Lanvin is another, it has a similar "lotiony" finish with more civet. And, of course, there is Miss Dior vintage.

I will have to sample Mouchoir de Monsieur and the others; cacio. Time to poke about the masculines

Leather Oud has plenty of civet in it.
    A lovely fecal note.

for swap/sale:

queen of the universe

hedonist, this sounds good. I love leather, too, and am just starting in on Dior.