Code of Conduct
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default Shave Soap vs Shave Cream, Shave Foam, Shave Gel

Having just re-entered the world of wet shaving thanks to Gillette Fusion and Trumpers Sandalwood Shave Cream, I was trying to find an explanation of how to use a PalmOlive shave stick when I came across this shaving site by a chap called Bruce.

http://www.bruceonshaving.com/2010/0...g-soap-sticks/

Reading the various articles, I was surprised to learn that
    a.______ I was a novice,
    b.______ that real wet shavers go for shaving soap and a brush made from boar or preferably badger bristle,
    c.______ that gels and foams aren't much good,
    d.______ that creams are okay for beginners, as they're just watered down versions of shave soap,
    d.______ that Tallow is a very good ingredient to have in shave soap, and
    e.______ that some of the best shave soaps come in stick form, and some are very inexpensive, and
    f.______ that the hard shaving soap is the most economical form of shaving.

Is this news to most of you, or have I just been way out of date?

What do you think of his points?

I must admit that if all I had at my disposal for wet shaving were the spray gels and foams they sell in supermarkets and chemists, I wouldn't be wet shaving now, as it was taking my face about a week to recover from wet shaving. I only ever bought the Trumpers cream because Basenoters here told me it was the best around at the time.
    Regards,
    Renato

Default Re: Shave Soap vs Shave Cream, Shave Foam, Shave Gel

Although when I was younger I used shaving soap with a brush, I now exclusively use foams which have worked fine for me. Will continue to do so.

Strictly a soap and badger-brush man.
    Personally, I don't get on terribly well with creams, but to each their own.
    Badger & Blade website is the Basenotes of wet-shaving. Maybe check them out if you are interested to learn more.

With regards to some of the points raised: