Code of Conduct

Default Suggestions for a perfume similar to No 5

Hi everyone, sorry I posted this one in the Starting Out forum originally. Long story short, I'm new to fragrance, at least compared to a lot of you here. My current serious perfume is No 5, and I wear it socially, usually at night. It's good for dates, dinners, etc. I'm a 42 year old woman in search of something similar to it, mainly because the only thing that bothers me about No 5 is its strength. I have the "eau de parfum" version. Also, I'm not fond of something in it, usually somethign I smell early on after putting it on . . . it's a little bit "stinky." I know, that's not a great descriptor.

Ursula mentioned Miriam by Tauer perfumes. that's a promising one. as I said in the other thread, I've heard K de Krizia is similar too. are there any others that could compare, perhaps without that little "stinky" element?

Thanks!

Basenotes Institution

Welcome JanFume!
    I love Chanel No 5 . Try the Eau Premiere version. I'm on Tapatalk right now and it's playing up. Also maybe Quelque Fleurs by Houbgigant.
    http://www.basenotes.net/threads/370...o-Profumo-Onda
    For sale. Carnal Flower and Vero Profumo Onda.

Default Re: Suggestions for a perfume similar to No 5

Thanks Mimi! I'll have to check that one out. I think I may have tried it a while ago but can't remember. I have read that it is a good alternative, but I guess I was hopint to get outside the No 5 line. but I will try that one.

by the way, what's Tapatalk?

Hi JanFume - welcome to basenotes!

My first suggestion would be to stick with No5 since you like it, but try the edt - it's quite different from the edp and it might be exactly what you're looking for minus the one note that turns you off. Or as Mimi suggested, try No5 Eau Première - it's an updated version of the classic and it's really very beautiful ...I bet you'd love it!