Code of Conduct
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default Have you ever felt self-conscious wearing a fragrance? (my experience)

Hello everyone,

I had an unsettling feeling for a while at work today due to comments I'd received from customers regarding a sharp smell in the store.

I work in the retail business during summer when I'm not attending school and I started the day off by getting ready in the employee restroom, which only consists of applying my day's fragrance since I don't like to apply beforehand, and today I went with Terre d'Hermes. The atomizer is nice and delivers powerful spritzes comparable only to my Creed bottle and I went with four total sprays: two to the chest and one to each forearm.

Fast-forward three hours to when a guy enters the store and made a facial expression as if he just got a whiff of smelling salts and asked another employee and myself if something sharp had been sprayed. Neither my co-worker nor myself had any idea. Shortly thereafter, a family had come in, and of all days my area manager had been there and came up to the front of the store and told us the family could smell something repugnant in the store; he then went to investigate what it could be and found nothing.