Code of Conduct
    Basenotes Junkie

Default Had an eye opening experience with skin chemistry today...

Wow, this was a real shocker. I'm relatively new at fragrance collecting and had always heard about how fragrances can change completely based on a person's skin chemistry, but I had no idea how extreme the difference could be.

I have been trying out dozens of samples lately trying to expand my meager collection a bit, so every day I try a few samples on different parts of my body in order to compare. I obtained a sample of Terre d'Hermes a few days ago and had already tried it twice. I really liked it when I had tried it before and was trying to decide whether I wanted to throw down the money for a bottle.

Now today was a little different from the previous days in that it was close to 90 degrees F outside, I had been sweating a lot, and I had applied a small amount of fragrance free lotion earlier in the day when I go out of the shower. I'm not sure which one of these factors made such an enormous difference in my skin chemistry, but something went horribly wrong today.

I started off sampling a few other fragrances earlier in the day without any problems. Everything smelled normal. There was no noticeable difference in any of the fragrances from previous times I had sampled them. I even wore a small shot of A*Men to see how it would do in hot weather, and it performed a lot better than expected. I didn't mind it at all. Then that afternoon I got to the Terre d'Hermes and something went completely haywire.