Code of Conduct
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
o

Default Creed Original Vetiver

I'm fairly new to the fragrance game, but so far I've really been intrigued by Creed and by vetiver...

On the Creed front, I haven't bought any because they're too expensive for me, but I have sampled a few - and to my nose they're very varied. Aventus, I like a lot - got a tiny drop left of my sample, and I'm savouring it. Green Irish Tweed, no, sorry - I think I'm probably oversensitive to calone, and I really don't like the stuff in anything more than a very light aftershave concentration. (Interesting that some see GIT as very similar to Cool Water. I don't. The calone in GIT is not nice, but there are plenty more notes that I actually do quite like. But Cool Water to me is full-on 100% nasty revolting calone. But I digress.) I've also tried Original Santal, and I didn't like it - it seemed really synthetic, and I had to go wash it off quickly.

Vetiver - I have Guerlain Vetiver, and love it. But as fragrances go, there's a real mixed bag out there. I haven't actually tried many, but Murdock Vetiver is one, and to me it's really resinously woody - I like the smell, but I don't want to smell like it. Then I've tried Tom Ford Grey Vetiver, and to me it's... bleeuugh! It's insipid, it's limp, and it seems like it's trying very hard not to smell of very much at all - which might suit today's aquatic-loving youngsters, but it doesn't suit me.

Then today I sampled Creed Original Vetiver... and, oh my word! It's fresh, it's clean, it's slightly soapy, it's very green. It avoids old-fashioned dourness, but at the same time it doesn't do it by emasculation the way so many "modern" fragrances do. It lasted a good 4-5 hours on my wrist, and few fragrances manage that.

Could I have found a Creed that I might actually buy? It's possible.
    Alan

Reside in McLean, Va., Manhattan NYC, Manuel Antonio Costa Rica & Búzios Brasil

Default Re: Creed Original Vetiver