Code of Conduct

Default Chocolate based Fragrance: I need help!

Hello basenoters!

This is my first time here in the DIY forum. Reading the topics here has made me want to do a fragrance for myself (Yes, I've read the Primer).

I'll try to make a fragrance with the following essential oils: Chocolate, Sandalwood, Vanilla and Musk.

I've never made any fragrances before. How long would a fragrance like this last on me?
    Any tips for a starter?
    Last edited by Rod; 20th August 2012 at 08:24 PM.

Default Re: Chocolate based Fragrance: I need help!

I'm pretty sure it's a base note. I've never tried to make a chocolate based fragrance myself though. I feel like it would be a tricky note to work with. I know it blends well with patchouli! (that combination is a major part of Angel if you like Angel at all)

Thanks Lauren, I'll try to mix it with patchouli too.
    Also, how can I make a chocolate scent last longer with a powerful chocolate base? (Sort of like Angel Men)

I think it will actually last pretty long on its own if you use the ingredients you've mentioned because they're all base notes.

Quote Originally Posted by Rod View Post
    Hello basenoters!

This is my first time here in the DIY forum. Reading the topics here has made me want to do a fragrance for myself (Yes, I've read the Primer).

I'll try to make a fragrance with the following essential oils: Chocolate, Sandalwood, Vanilla and Musk.

I've never made any fragrances before. How long would a fragrance like this last on me?
    Any tips for a starter?
    I should have picked up on this earlier - sorry - but you need to know that there isn't an essential oil of chocolate or musk and essential oil of vanilla is incredibly rare (though it does exist).