Code of Conduct

Default Bad news for Body Kouros and Opium fans! They are nearly the same with our cheap traditional oils!

I'm new to fragrances and I realised some funny phenomena.

Some YSL fragrances smell nearly the same as our cheap traditional scents (which cost about 2 or 3 dollars in my country)..

I'm not joking. These scents are so similiar! And they have been widely used for hundreds of years in my country.

First I tried Body Kouros.. And I was shocked. The scent was nearly the same with a cheap oil called "haci yagi". The meaning is "pilgrim's oil" or "haji oil" in English. It is named this way because this oil was brought to Turkey by Muslim pilgrims who visited Arabia a thousand years ago.

You can find this oil for a few dollars. It is considered too heavy. New generations and young people who like modern perfumes usually hate it (especially girls)

I thought it was just a coincidence. But when I tried Opium... I started laughing!

It is so similiar to a traditional cologne, namely "tobacco cologne".

Traditionally, Turkish people widely use a kind of citrus cologne for a feeling of refreshment. This not used as a perfume, the purpose is not smelling good for hours. It is just a momentary pleasure. The scent is usualy gone within minutes. The only ingredients of this cologne are distilled lemon and pure ethil alcohol. It is sold for 1 or 2 dollars.

There are less popular varieties of this cologne, namely tobacco cologne and lavender cologne. Again they have only a single ingredient. Most people hate tobacco cologne because it is more persistant than the lemon or lavender colognes. It smells harsh tobacco for hours.

The Opium is nearly the same with this tobacco cologne. I admit it is better. It is a bit "tamed". It is less oppressive. Yet it is nearly the same scent!

Right now I'm smelling these two side by side, and I wonder if it is just a coincidence?
    Last edited by Brightblade; 2nd September 2012 at 08:54 PM.